Blood tests and Beagles

So here we are one week later, not too much has changed. For better or worse there has been a bunch of lovely insurance red-tape that we’ve been wading through. I’ve definitely gotten impatient at times, but still remaining patient and trusting that everything will work out has certainly been stretching.

The medical update so far is that I’ve been to see a primary care doctor, had a few blood tests, and am now lined up to see an oncologist (cancer doctor) this coming Thursday. In regards to blood tests, being the curious scientist that I am, I wanted to learn more about the tests they were doing and why! Also, as someone who is passionate about science communication I couldn’t turn down this opportunity with a captive audience.

So there are a variety of tests that can be performed when your blood is drawn, but I’ll specifically be touching on the ones related to lymphoma. First a “full blood count” is a test that measures the number of red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets in your blood. Next an “erythrocyte sedimentation rate” (ESR) test measures the thickness of the blood; ESR is commonly raised if lymphoma is present. A test for “C-reactive protein” measures general levels of inflammation in the body. The protein’s physiological role is to bind to phosphocholine expressed on the surface of dead or dying cells. And finally “lactate dehydrogenase’” is measured as levels are generally at higher than normal in some types of lymphoma. Interestingly, cancer cells rely on anaerobic respiration for the conversion of glucose to lactate, catalyzed lactate dehydrogenase, by shifting use of glucose metabolites from simple energy production to the promotion of accelerated cell growth and replication. Cool! (But I suppose slightly scary as well.)

A note about Beagles, I have one! After conversations with a few friends and then pleading somewhat with my parents, we adopted a 1.5-year-old Beagle Mix. His name is Hōkūle'a, which translates as “Star of Gladness” and is named after a famous Polynesian voyaging canoe.

IMG_6006.jpg

And finally, the outpouring of support both through the internet and in person from friends, family and strangers has truly been incredible. There’s a song I’ve been humming to myself about turning mourning into dancing and a book by the same title makes a beautiful point stating this:

And as we dance, we realize we don’t have to stay on the little spot of grief, but can step beyond it. We stop centering our lives on ourselves. We pull others along with us and invite them into the larger dance.

Let’s dance friends, much love

Paul

 
89
Kudos
 
89
Kudos

Now read this

Brown Paper Packages Tied Up With Strings

May 16th, 2014 This week I wanted to quickly highlight a few of my favorite things: 1 # I’m definitely learning to deal with the chemotherapy side effects more effectively. It previously would take me about four days to feel back to... Continue →