Family, Flying, and FameLab

This last week was spent enjoying the company of my dearest sister Rosalind who was on her spring break from Berkeley. I’m pretty sure that being home was quite boring and slow compared to her fast-paced life in the Bay, but regardless I was happy to have her home. 14-IMG_6365.jpg

The youngest member of our family is settling well into the Bump residence. While he still chooses to choke himself to death on his leash instead of walking at a reasonable pace, Hoku is improving and has mastered the command of “sit.” One thing at a time I suppose, good thing he’s adorable.38-IMG_6433.jpg

The medical update for this week is not anything huge. I had a port-a-cath put in for my upcoming chemotherapy treatment and surgery was rather curious as it was only local anesthesia, I was very much awake and talking as they made the incisions and inserted the device. Chemotherapy drugs are very toxic and irritating to the skin, tissues, and veins so a port-a-cath allows medications can be administered into a large central vein so they can be immediately diluted by a large volume of blood and be delivered effectively throughout the entire body. The plan is still for 6 cycles of chemotherapy starting on April 11th when I return from my trip.

Speaking of the trip, flying and FameLab, I’m currently sitting at LAX waiting for a flight to Washington D.C. to participate in FameLab. This should be a really enjoyable next couple days getting to connect with other science communication advocates. If you are around computer April 5th (this Saturday) at 7pm EST you’re welcome to watch the National Finals:
[http://famelab-eeb.arc.nasa.gov/competitions/eeb-finals/]

Looks like our plane is about to board, so I’ll wrap this up.

“travelers of the clouds, the always changing, the always moving. if you can’t seem to find me, look to the sky.”

 
68
Kudos
 
68
Kudos

Now read this

The Anchor

June 16th, 2014 Hello Friends, If my lack of posts recently has been a concern to you, I want to assure you after sailing through a few storms, that journey is still on course and I am doing well. I had been in a weird funk recently,... Continue →